Edgbaston Priory Club - Home of the Edgbaston Classic

The Edgbaston Priory Club is situated on Priory Road in Edgbaston. A tennis club that usually one week in June each year hosts the Edgbaston Classic, a womens tennis competition.

Where is the Edgbaston Priory Club?

The Edgbaston Priory Club is on Sir Harrys Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2UZ. There is also an entrance on the Priory Road. It is a private lawn tennis and squash club. It is a regular host of the WTA Tour event the Edgbaston Classic.


In brief

The Edgbaston Priory Club was formed following a merger in 1964 between two of the earliest lawn tennis clubs, the Priory Lawn Tennis Club (founded in 1875) and the Edgbaston Cricket & Lawn Tennis Club (founded in 1878). Since 1982, the Priory Club has been host to a pre-Wimbledon Ladies' competition, the Classic (originally known as the Edgbaston Cup).

Edgbaston Priory ClubEdgbaston Priory Club during the Aegon Classic 2014. Photography by Elliott Brown


Edgbaston Priory Club - history

Located on a site in Edgbaston between Sir Harrys Road and Priory Road. It was in Edgbaston where the earliest lawn tennis games were first played in the late 19th Century.

Between 1859 and 1865, Major Harry Gem and Augurio Perera played the first game of lawn tennis in the garden of 8 Ampton Road, Edgbaston.

Lawn tennis blue plaque

Blue plaque at 8 Ampton Road, Edgbaston (April 2012). Photography by Elliott Brown


Following this, the Priory Lawn Tennis Club was founded in 1875. It played at two courts on the Pershore Road, before they moved to the current site in the 1880s.

The Edgbaston Cricket  & Lawn Tennis Club was founded in 1878. It was founded as a breakaway from another club that was founded in 1872, where the inventor of the game Major Harry Gem was a member. This was probably what is now called the Edgbaston Archery & Lawn Tennis Society. That was formed in 1860 as the Edgbaston Archery Society on what is now Edgbaston Park Road (then known as Hall Hill Road). Edgbaston Cricket Club took over this site when the Archery Society moved to it's current site on Westbourne Road.

Both clubs had successes during the 20th century, until it was decided to merge the clubs in 1964. This followed a fire at the Priory Clubhouse in 1963.

In the 1960s and 1970s, Edgbaston Priory Club members competed at Wimbledon. This included Ann Haydon-Jones who won Wimbledon in 1969. The clubs new Centre Court was named after her in 2013.

From 1982 onwards, the Edgbaston Priory Club has been host every June to the Edgbaston Cup (later renamed to Edgbaston Classic). It has had many different sponsors over the years. It is a women's pre-Wimbledon tournament. The cup was brought back from Wimbledon in 1885 by Maud Watson after her second singles title win.

Aegon ClassicAegon Classic 2014 billboard at Lancaster Circus Queensway. Photography by Elliott Brown


A new clubhouse was built in 1967. This was followed by a swimming pool and gym in 1992. There was a major re-development during 2012-13. There is now 32 grass courts and 10 squash courts, plus a new clubhouse twice the size of it's predecessor.

Edgbaston Priory Club

Edgbaston Priory ClubEdgbaston Priory Club during the Aegon Classic 2016. Photography by Elliott Brown


Transport to Edgbaston Priory Club

Cars or coaches can use the car park at the club on Priory Road or Sir Harrys Road.

You can get the no 1 bus to Priory Road in Edgbaston.


Contact details

Edgbaston Priory Club

Sir Harrys Road



B15 2UZ

0121 440 2492

Project dates

11 May 2021 - On-going


History & heritage, Sport & leisure, Travel & tourism


Your Place Your Space

Jonathan Bostock

0121 410 5520
jonathan.bostock@ yourplaceyourspace.com